Engines Are Warming Up For Grand Prix

19:11' 28-03-2018
Formula One (F1) is the highest class of single-seater auto racing sanctioned by the Fédération Internationale de lAutomobile (FIA), or International Automobile Association. It has been one of the leading forms of racing worldwide since it began in 1950.

    Kết quả hình ảnh cho Formula One

    Photo: thedrum.com

    The Championship race is held on nearly every continent. The 2018 season consists of 21 races, of which 11 are held outside Europe. The Australian race, at Melbourne’s Albert Park, will be held from Thursday 22 March to Sunday 25 March.

    The Australian Grand Prix began as the 100 Miles Road Race at Phillip Island in 1928. The last Phillip Island race was in 1935, and the title lapsed for three years. After that it was held from time to time in various Australian locations. Phillip Island still hosts the annual motorcycle Grand Prix.

    The Australian Grand Prix became a regular round of the FIA Formula One World Championship in 1985, with the last race of the season held on a street circuit in the centre of Adelaide. In 1996 it moved to Albert Park.

    Qualifying Sessions and Practice Sessions are held from 10am Thursday throughout the weekend, as well as some of the shorter races, such as the Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup (10 laps) and the Coates Hire Supercars Melbourne 400 (25 laps).

    The main event is the Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix on Sunday at 4pm, a two-hour race of 58 laps.

    Apart from the qualifying sessions and races, a number of other track activities occur. They include demonstrations, speed comparisons, and parades, such as the Ferrari Parade at 11.25am on Saturday, and the Drivers' Parade at 2.40pm on Sunday, before the main race.

    The complete program, and many details about the race, the cars and the drivers, can be found at www.grandprix.com.au.

    Bun C



    Vocabulary Rating Review

Keywords: europeformula oneinternational automobile association

Favourite News
Updated News